For the first time, all permanent secretaries have objectives to improve diversity and inclusion in the Civil Service.

Permanent secretaries across government have published their objectives for improving diversity and inclusion within their own departments and across the wider Civil Service.

In a blog post on GOV.UK last week, Sue Owen, Civil Service Diversity & Inclusion Champion and Civil Service LGB&T Champion, wrote about the publication of the objectives. She wrote:

“Whilst we’ve had objectives in the past, this is the first time that our commitment to diversity has been so strongly embedded in them and I am really proud of this.”

Each permanent secretary has signed up to diversity objectives, as has Sir Jeremy Heywood, Head of the Civil Service and Cabinet Secretary. The objectives cover a wide range of diversity and inclusion issues, including areas relevant to LGB*, trans* and BAME people. Several permenant secertaries are also focussing on improving social mobility in the Civil Service.

The majority of permanent secretaries have decided to focus on supporting LGB* staff, including:

  • Jeremy Heywood
  • Sue Owen (DCMS)
  • John Manzoni (CO and Chief Executive of the Civil Service)
  • Martin Donnelly (BIS)
  • Melanie Dawes (DCLG)
  • Stephen Lovegrove (DECC)
  • Clare Moriarty (Defra)
  • Mark Lowcock (DfID)
  • Una O’Brien (DH)
  • Robert Devreaux (DWP)
  • Simon McDonald (FCO)
  • Lin Homer (HMRC)
  • Mark Sedwill (HO)
  • Jon Thompson (MOD)
  • Richard Heaton (MOJ)

CSRA will be working with departmental networks to understand how we can support them and permanent secretaries to meet these objectives over the coming year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *